Pearson named DSP of the Year

Published 12:30 pm Monday, September 19, 2016

Last week was Direct Care Professional Week, and to celebrate Evergreen Community Supports LLC has recognized direct support professionals (DSPs) who have gone above and beyond in their service.

Evergreen works with adults with intellectual disabilities. According to program director Matt Williams, the agency’s primary service location is Winchester. It also operates in Montgomery and Powell counties.

The winner of the DSP of the year award receives a $500 bonus, with two runners-up getting $100 bonuses each.

Email newsletter signup

This year’s DSP of the year is Donna Pearson. Pearson has a great attitude for her job, Williams said.

“Donna Pearson is someone who makes a big difference in the lives of the people she supports,” Williams said. “Her attitude is perfectly suited for the role of DSP. With an always

upbeat, pleasant, sweet disposition. She brightens any room she enters and brings a smile to the face of every person she works with.”

Pearson said she was surprised by the announcement and had been on vacation Monday when she was told she had won the award.

“I was in tears,” she said. “I had to pull off to the side of the road so that I didn’t wreck my truck.”

Williams said Pearson has a “can-do” attitude that gives her the strength to put in long hours helping participants in the program, and she often averages 150 hours per pay period. She and her husband also assist others in need as Family Home Providers.

Pearson described her job as helping people to be independent so they can live their lives to the fullest. A typical day includes taking her individuals to the store, providing rides to and from the movie theater or church, and helping the people she works with make and execute plans for their daily lives.

 “I love them so much, I guess it shows,” Pearson said.

She said she has worked for Evergreen for about 2 and a half years and it’s the best company she’s ever worked for.

“They treat their individuals very well as well as their employees,” she said.

DSP runners up include Peggy Tipton-Taulbee and Taylor Johnson.