School board elects chair, vice chair for 2017

Published 12:40 pm Wednesday, January 4, 2017

Clark County Board of Education member Dr. Michael Kuduk will remain chair of the school district’s legislative body following an organizational meeting Tuesday night.

During the first board meeting of the new term, board members were responsible for electing officers. Board Member Judy Hicks nominated Kuduk to continue in his role, while Board Member Gordon Parido nominated Scott Hisle, who recently won his seat from Todd Wilson. in the November election.

Parido and Board Member Ashley Ritchie voted for Hisle to act as the board’s leader, while Hicks, Kuduk and Hisle himself voted for Kuduk.

Email newsletter signup

Kuduk then opened the floor for nominations for vice-chair of the board. Hisle nominated Parido, but Parido declined the nomination stating he was “not interested.”

Hisle then nominated himself for the position and was confirmed unanimously by the board.

Superintendent Paul Christy was chosen by the board to be the board secretary, a position Kuduk said was traditionally held by the superintendent, and district finance director Aleisha Ellis was made the board treasurer.

Regular board meetings for the year will take place on the third Tuesday of every month beginning at 6:30 p.m. at the Central office, 1600, W. Lexington Ave.

The board’s draft budget meeting for 2017 will be Jan. 24, the tentative budget meeting will be May 23, and the working budget meeting will be Sept. 24.

Two student achievement report meetings are scheduled for Oct. 24 and Nov. 14.

However, meeting dates may be changed as a result of snow days, Kuduk said.