GRC recognizes students’ academic success

Published 12:47 pm Thursday, May 18, 2017

Faculty, staff and parents at George Rogers Clark High School took time Monday night to celebrate the academic successes of more than 100 students at its annual senior honors and scholarship awards ceremony.

The event is an opportunity to showcase students at the high school who have been awarded scholarships as they move on to postsecondary education.

Of special note was the National Merit Georgia-Pacific Foundation Scholarship, awarded to Jacob Green.

Email newsletter signup

Guidance counselor Jennifer Mink said the event also gives the opportunity to highlight students finishing their senior years with strong grade-point averages.

“We honor students who have had a 4.0 in the last seven semesters,” she said. “Those students get a certificate and a julep cup.”

She said that this year 38 students were recognized for maintaining a 4.0 GPA. Averages of 3.5 to 3.9 are also honored with a certificate, Mink said.

At Monday’s ceremony, 61 students received local scholarships from businesses and community organizations.

Several more students have earned scholarships from the educational institutions they will be attending after graduation, and those who are receiving more than $30,000 and reported their awards to the school by May 1 were recognized Monday.

Three students earned awards for perfect attendance, including Samual Rupard, who maintained perfect attendance from for the entirety of his time at CCPS from kindergarten to grade 12.  

Charlie Miller and Jimmy Miller also were honored for perfect attendance during their entire high school career. 

The complete list of honors includes:

Local honors

—Governor’s Scholars 2016: Chris Collins, Sarah Kennedy, Laura Graves, Taylor Kincaid and Micah Kindred

—Governor’s School for the Arts 2016: Daniel Mantilla and Isaiah Williams

—John Calvin Scholarship: Andrew Clark

—Dorothy T. Givens Scholarship: Ta’Myha Calloway

—University of Kentucky Clark County Alumni Scholarship: Angelica Zefi

—The Dr. Ralph Alvarado Scholarship: Jacey Griffith

—Clark Regional Medical Center Medical Staff Scholarship: Brooke Woosley

—Floyd W. Clay Memorial Rotary Scholarship: Deborah Adams, Sarah Clark, Aylin Hernandez and Abigail Green

—Winchester Elks #2816 Lodge Scholarship: Daniel Helgeson and Taylor Kincaid

—Adam R. Morefield Masonic Scholarship Represented by Right Angle Lodge #233: Charlie Miller

—Right Angle Lodge #233 Masonic Scholarship: Aylin Hernandez and Kiersten Ratliff

—Distinguished Young Women Award: Lacee Duncan,  first place; Micah Kindred, first runner up; Elizabeth Hardiman , second place; Haley Hounshell, third place

—Boonesboro Lioness Scholarship: Emilee Vaughn

—Best Western Scholarship: Deborah Adams, Sarah Clark, Abigail Green and Aylin Hernandez

—Clark County Education Association: Faith Hughes

—Winchester Kiwanis Club Scholarship: Daniel Helgeson, Aylin Hernandez and Carson Kovalic

—Boonesboro Lions Club Scholarship: Taylor Kincaid

—Trapp Elementary Alumni Association (for former Trapp students): Luccia Aversano and Darby Manning

—Pilot View PTO (for former Pilot View students): Sarah Clark and Jarred Redmon

—The Sheila Hill Scholarship: Ta’Myha Callaway and Jada Miller

—Central Kentucky Blood Center HOSA Blood Drive Scholarship: Elizabeth Hardiman and Avrey Skillern

—Power of Life Kentucky Blood Drive Beta Club Scholarship: Laura Graves

—National Beta Club Scholarship: Laura Graves and Jimmy Miller

—Rowland Arts Exemplary Service Award: Andrew Clark and Adrianne Neal

—Kathryn Owen Veterinary Scholarship: Emily Smith

—4H Ponies and Partners Club: Allison Fink, Kaylee Potts and Casey Shimfessel

—Marie Chism Scholarship: Ta’Myha Callaway

—Winchester Art Guild: Andrew Clark and Abigail Green

—Clark County Homemakers: Zhasia Jenkins

—KAPOS Region 10 Outstanding Cheerleader: Laura Graves

—Stella Glib Scholarship: Laura Graves

—GRC Cheer Booster Club Scholarship: Erin Daniel, Laura Graves, Taylor Kincaid, Paityn Palmer, Mina Rodgers and Kennedy Williams

—Karen Harris Cheerleading Scholarship: Laura Graves

—DSM Biomedical and Engineering Scholarship: Lindsey Highly

—Anonymous Donor Scholarship: Camille Felts

—Ripple Effect Scholarship: Emily Smith

College/university academic scholarships and honors

—Bluegrass Community and Technical College: Andrew Barrera and Jada Miller

—Brigham Young University: Emily Smith

—Campbellsville University: Carson Kovalic

—Centre College: Clay Fike ($98,000 Colonel Scholarship) and Kylee Murray

—Eastern Kentucky University: Anna Allen, Chasity Baker, Chancey Bowden, Noah Bush, Brayden Conley, Christian Higgins, Lindsey Highly, Justin Johnson, Frances King, Darby Manning, Caleb May, Jaylen Watkins and Mary Wheeler

—Georgetown College: Abby Jones ($76,000 Georgetown Founders Scholarship)

—Kentucky Christian University: Allison Honaker

—Kentucky State University: Kierra Robertson ($75,000 Black Achievers)

—Lindsey Wilson College: Chandler Gray ($52,000 Academic)

—Midway College: Hannah Ritchie

—Morehead State University: Bethany Barker, Erin Daniel, Camille Felts ($32,000 Commonwealth), Jimmy Miller, Sam Tallent and Sydney Taylor

—New York University: Kiersten Ratliff ($32,000 Liberal Studies)

—Northern Kentucky University: Isaiha Carpenter

—University of Cincinnati: Jacob Green ($72,000 Excellence)

—University of Kentucky: Levi Broeking, Allison Fink ($48,000 William C. Parker Minority Honors), Abigail Green, Elena Guerra ($42,000 William C. Parker Minority Honors), Daniel Guerrant ($120,000 Army ROTC), Haley Hounshell, Riley Hunter ($100,000 3 year A/D Army ROTC), Langdon Winburn and Brooke Woosley

—United States Air Force Academy: Chris Collins ($410,000 USAFA)

—University of Pennsylvania: Taylor Kincaid ($228,000 Andrew Okum)

—University of Louisville: Micah Kindred and Isaiah Williams

—West Virginia University: Natalie May

—Western Kentucky University: Ta’Myha Calloway, Holly Hummel, Sarah Kennedy ($54,000 Cherry Presidential Scholarship), Chris Lambert and Megan Rowe ($32,000 Academic Merit)

—National Merit Georgia-Pacific Foundation Scholarship: Jacob Green

—Clark County UK Alumni Book Award: Nicholas Dunaway

YMCA Black Achievers: Ta’Myha Calloway and Kierra Robertson

—National Society of Arts and Letters Awards: Abigail Green (art), Linnzie Hays (drama), Jaxon Calk (creative writing), Elena Guerra (music) and John Sheilds (outstanding senior)

—Joe Bordas Award: Caleb May

—Kentucky High School Journalism Association Awards: Lexi Black, Tommy Bankes, Emily Bloomfield, Andrew Clark, Aaliyah Crawford, Laura Graves, Elizabeth Hardiman, Carson Kovalic, Caroline Miller, Hannah Ritchie, Megan Rowe, Derek Scott, Caitlain Stewart and Samantha Wasson.

—Gear Up Award Student of the Year: Scott Newlin

—DAR Award: Isaiah Williams

—Attendance: Charlie Miller (all four years), Jimmy Miller (all four years) and Samual Rupard (K-12)

—Marine Recognition Award for highest GPA: Kylee Murray and Jacob Green

—Marine Recognition Award for band: Andrea Storlie and Chris Lambert

—Marine Recognition Award for athletics: Kylee Murray and Andrew Clark

Athletic scholarships/contracts

—Campbellsville University: Carson Kovalic (soccer)

—Centre College: Kylee Murray (basketball)

—Kentucky Christian University: Alison Honaker (soccer)

—Lindsay Wilson College: Chandler Gray (football)

—Midway College: Hannah Ritchie (golf)

—Transylvania University: Elizabeth Hardiman (volleyball/basketball)