GRC students named Sen. Jeff Green Scholars

Published 8:20 am Tuesday, August 22, 2017

FRANKFORT — Fourteen Clark County students have been named Senator Jeff Green Scholars by the Kentucky Higher Education Assistance Authority (KHEAA). To earn this honor, a student must have a 4.0-grade point average each year of high school and at least a 28 composite on the ACT.

These students have also earned $2,500 a year in Kentucky Educational Excellence Scholarship (KEES) awards. If they keep their grades up in college, they will have $10,000 to use toward a four-year degree.

The designation honors the late state Sen. Jeff Green of Mayfield, who served in the Kentucky General Assembly from 1992 to 1997.

Email newsletter signup

Those chosen from George Rogers Clark High School are Andrew Clark, Laura Graves, Jacob Green, Jacey Griffith, Sarah Kennedy, Taylor Kincaid, Micah Kindred, Darby Manning, Natalie May, Kylee Murray, Kirsten Ratliff, James Rogers, Megan Rowe and Mackenzie Tallent.

KEES and other Kentucky student aid programs are administered by KHEAA. KEES awards are funded by net Kentucky lottery proceeds and may be used at most colleges and universities in Kentucky. In some cases, the award may be used at an out-of-state school if the major the student is pursuing is not available in Kentucky. No application is necessary for KEES awards.

For more information about Kentucky scholarships and grants, visit