Alvarado gets ‘Physician of the Year’ award

Published 9:53 am Monday, September 18, 2017

FRANKFORT — IGE Media, publisher of Medical News, announced Wednesday Sen. Ralph Alvarado (R-Winchester) will be recognized with the “Physician of the Year” award at the group’s annual MediStar Awards ceremony.

“This is certainly a tremendous honor to be recognized as the Physician of the Year,” Alvarado said. “My goal as a physician and a legislator is to create an environment in our state that realistically increases health care access to patients by reducing barriers, reducing costs and increasing the number of medical providers in Kentucky. I believe we made great strides toward achieving this goal through a number of bills passed in 2017.”

The MediStar Awards recognized Alvarado for his efforts in passing significant legislation related to the medical and health care community during the 2017 Regular Session of the Kentucky General Assembly including:

Email newsletter signup

— Senate Bill 4: Establishment of medical review panels in order to screen out frivolous medical lawsuits in Kentucky. First true advancement of medical tort reform in Kentucky in 20 years.

— Senate Bill 79: Recognition of Direct Primary Care as a health care model to allow patients to pay primary care providers a monthly subscription fee to receive global primary care services.

— Senate Bill 86: Mandates medical providers to refer victims of domestic violence to domestic violence shelters for assistance.

— Senate Bill 111: Establishes oversight authority by the Kentucky Board of Pharmacy over outsourcing pharmacies who compound their own medications in order to prevent tainted materials from hurting patients.

The MediStar Awards ceremony will be Tuesday, Oct. 24, at the Muhammad Ali Center in downtown Louisville.

Alvarado represents the 28th State Senate District including Clark and Montgomery counties and the eastern portion of Fayette County.