AARP designates donations, installs officers

Published 6:03 pm Wednesday, January 24, 2018

AARP Chapter 632 last met Dec. 5, 2017, at the James B. Allen Generations Center with 44 members and guests.

President Elizabeth Gay presided.

Following the pledge to the flag, Clark County Judge-Executive Henry Branham gave the invocation. Corina Martin was recognized for having a November birthday.

Email newsletter signup

The group enjoyed a festive evening with a holiday potluck. Musicians Tim Talbert (keyboards), Kevin Sparks (trumpet) and Velma Thompson (vocalist) entertained with Christmas carols.

Colista Ledford said the AARP Board had designated donations to the following:

— James B. Allen Generations Center, $300

— Beacon Of Hope, $50

— Homeless Coalition, $50

— Operation Happiness, $50

— Prescription Drug Assistance, $50

Branham installed the local AARP officers for 2018.

They are:

— President: Elizabeth Gay

— Vice President: Betty Pace

— Secretary: Colista Ledford

— Assistant Secretary: Sue Staton

— Treasurer: Joyce Reffett

The next AARP meeting will be at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 30, at at the James B. Allen Generations Center, 32 Meadow St. The meeting will be canceled if schools are closed due to inclement weather that day. Everyone 50 years of age or older is invited.