AARP chapter selects new officers

Published 9:24 am Thursday, January 10, 2019

AARP Chapter 632 met Dec. 4 with former President Elizabeth Gay presiding and 27 members and guests present.

Clark County Judge- Executive Henry Branham installed the officers for 2019. New officers are Sue Staton, president; Corina Martin, vice president; Colista Ledford, secretary; and Joyce Reffett, treasurer.

Jo Spencer addressed the group regarding the recent fires in California and asked for prayers.

Gay asked us to remember relatives of beloved member Betty Ratliff Smith who passed away Nov. 19.

Lynn May presented certificates of appreciation to current and former chapter officers.

Don Rose talked about the receipt of $500 from the Veteran’s Association.

This was used to submit and carry out a plan to interview a World War II veteran, host a program for local vets at the Rose Mary C. Brooks Place, and honor them with gifts and certificates.

Rose thanked everyone who helped with the project.

Ledford read the secretary’s report and Joyce Reffett gave the treasurer’s report.

Rose noted he has updated the list of chapter members which he will bring to the next meeting, and Gay announced annual membership dues of $6 are now due.

The next AARP meeting will be at 4:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 29, at the James B. Allen Generations Center, 32 Meadow St. Everyone 50 years or older is invited.