State primary elections Tuesday

Published 2:05 pm Saturday, May 18, 2019

The first round of this year’s state elections is coming Tuesday and the window is closing for absentee voters.

As of 1:30 p.m. Friday, 141 people had cast their absentee votes, according to Clark County Clerk Michelle Turner’s office. Absentee voting ends Monday at 5 p.m. for anyone who has applied in advance.

Regular polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday at Clark County’s 26 voting precincts. With only state races this time, each precinct will have only two ballots: One for Republican candidates and one for Democrats.

Email newsletter signup

The following races and candidates will be on the ballot Tuesday:


Governor and Lt. Governor

— Andy Beshear and Jacqueline Coleman

— Adam H. Edelen and Gill Holland

— Geoffrey M. “Geoff” Young and Joshua N. “Josh” French

— Rocky Adkins and Stephanie Horne

Secretary of State

— Jason Griffith

— Heather French Henry

— Geoff Sebesta

— Jason S. Belcher


— Sheri Donahue

— Chris Tobe

— Kelsey Hayes Coots

State Treasurer

— Josh Mers

— Michael Bowman

Attorney General

— Greg Stumbo (unopposed)

Commissioner of Agriculture

— Joe Trigg

— Robert Haley Conway


Governor and Lt. Governor

— Robert Goforth and Michael T. Hogan

— Ike Lawrence and James Anthony Rose

— William E. Woods and Justin B. Miller

— Matthew G. Bevin and Ralph A. Alvarado

Secretary of State

— Andrew English

— Stephen L. Knipper

— Carl Nett

— Michael G. Adams


— Mike Harmon (unopposed)


— Allison Ball (unopposed)

Attorney General

— Wil Schroeder

— Daniel Cameron

Commissioner of Agriculture

— Ryan F. Quarles

— Bill Polyniak

About Fred Petke

Fred Petke is a reporter for The Winchester Sun, the Jessamine Journal and the State Journal. His beats include cops, courts, fire, public records, city and county government and other news. To contact Fred, email or call 859-759-0051.

email author More by Fred