Absentee voting opens at Clark courthouse

Absentee voting opened Tuesday across Kentucky, four weeks ahead of elections to elect a governor and other statewide offices.

Clark County Clerk Michelle Turner said voting in her office was slightly delayed because of an issue with a machine Tuesday morning, but voting began after it was repaired.

Absentee voting is open to anyone who will be out of town Nov. 5 and unable to vote, such as being on vacation or at college.

“We have to know where you’re going to be,” Turner said.

The absentee machines will be available during the clerk’s office’s regular business hours of 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Tuesday through Friday and 8 a.m. to noon Saturday, she said. The last day to vote as an absentee is Nov. 4, the day before election day.

This year’s ballot includes six races: governor and lieutenant governor, secretary of state, attorney general, auditor of public accounts, state treasurer and commissioner of agriculture.

Turner said the only change will be how voters sign in at the voting precinct on election day. Rather than sign a paper book, precinct workers will scan a voter’s driver’s license with an e-poll book, she said.

“There will be no more roster books,” she said. “If their operator’s license is correct, it’s easy.”

Updating information may take a few additional seconds, she said.

There are no changes to any of Clark County’s 26 voting precincts or locations this year, she said.

Polls will be open from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 5.

Those on the ballot are:

— Governor: Matt Bevin and Ralph Alvarado (Republican), Andy Beshear and Jacqueline Coleman (Democrat), John Hicks and Ann Cormican (Libertarian)

— Secretary of State: Michael G. Adams (Republican), Heather French Henry (Democrat)

— Attorney General: Daniel Cameron (Republican), Gregory D. Stumbo (Democrat)

— Auditor of Public Accounts: Mike Harmon (Republican), Sheri Donahue (Democrat), Kyle Hugenberg (Libertarian)

— State Treasurer: Allison Ball (Republican), Michael Bowman (Democrat)

— Commissioner of Agriculture: Ryan F. Quarles (Republican), Robert Haley Conway (Democrat), Josh Gilpin (Libertarian)

About Fred Petke

Fred Petke is a reporter for The Winchester Sun, the Jessamine Journal and the State Journal. His beats include cops, courts, fire, public records, city and county government and other news. To contact Fred, email fred.petke@bluegrassnewsmedia.com or call 859-759-0051.

email author More by Fred