Copying services resume, Pageturners starting new book

By John Maruskin

Sun columnist

Last week you might remember I told you the Clark County Public Library was no longer accepting physical materials and paper documents for copying.

Well, the good news this week is the Library is, once again, copying paper documents and the fax service has been reinstated. If you have a paper document that needs to be copied or faxed, you can once again bring it to the Library.

For your own convenience, the best idea is to call the library before you deliver your document. You will have to deliver the document to the Librarian working in the lobby. The librarian will take the document, give it to someone working circulation or reference. When the document is copied, you will be notified by phone or email, whichever you prefer.

As I said last week, if you have a time sensitive document, please deliver it before it is due. Documents cannot always be copied immediately. If you have any questions concerning copying or sending a fax, call 859-744-5661 extension 2.

Reference librarians are still accepting digital documents through the document address print40391@gmail.com. If you have any questions about that service or need any special help, call the library and connect to line.

At 6:30 p.m. Tuesday, Jan. 19, via Zoom meeting software, Pageturner’s Book Group discusses “The Hunting Party” by Lucy Foley.

“The Hunting Party” was named one of the most anticipated thrillers of Winter 20121by

Goodreads, BookBub, PopSugar and Pure Wow!

A.J. Finn, New York Times bestselling author of “The Woman in the Window,” says “The Hunting Party” is “A ripping, riveting murder mystery — wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth. Perfect for fans of Ruth Ware.”

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirty-something friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students 10 years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands — the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

The trip begins innocently enough: the friends admire the stunning if foreboding scenery, drink champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscence about the past. After a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

On New Year’s Day, one of them is dead. All of them are (well, were) friends. One of them is a killer.

There are unlimited Ebooks and Audiobooks of “The Hunting Party” available on Hoopla in CCPL’s Online Library. Just go to www.clarkbooks.org, click the Online Library tab and choose Hoopla from the dropdown menu.

To receive a Zoom invitation to Pageturner’s, email jennifer.clarkbooks@gmail.com.

January is the perfect month for curling up with a good book. Whether you crave a novel, want to start thinking about your late winter garden (you can always plant cold weather greens in February if you’re willing to give them some cover when a harsh freeze comes), or you want to brush up on a subject. I recently got a number of interesting calls from people interested in Ancient Greek history and biographies of classic movie stars.

Give the library a call for wonderful books, movies, music and magazines.

And take care of yourself. Wear your mask, social distance and wash your hands.

John Maruskin is director of adult services at the Clark County Public Library. He can be reached at john.clarkbooks@gmail.com.

About Randy Patrick

Randy Patrick is a reporter for Bluegrass Newsmedia, which includes The Jessamine Journal. He may be reached at 859-759-0015 or by email at randy.patrick@bluegrassnewsmedia.com.

email author More by Randy