Kentucky High School Basketball HOF to induct 2 classes in 2021

Published 6:29 pm Saturday, April 3, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

ELIZABETHTOWN, Ky. – The Kentucky High School Basketball Hall of Fame will have two induction ceremonies in 2021 at the State Theatre and have several other activities planned throughout the year in its promotion basketball in the commonwealth.

The 2020 class will be inducted on May 15 and the 2021 class follows on July 24.

COVID kept last year’s class from being inducted.

Email newsletter signup

Several other planned events include the Glory Road project where the following gymnasiums throughout the state will be recognized.

• Ashland High School Gymnasium

• Dunbar High School Gymnasium

• Monticello High School Gymnasium

• Sports Center, Owensboro, Kentucky

• T.K. Stone, Elizabethtown High School Gymnasium

Heritage games between longtime rivalries and other regional designated games to promote basketball regionally are also being schedule.

The Heritage schedule includes:

• Dunbar – Central / February 2022

• Paintsville – Pikeville TBA

• Monticello – Somerset TBA

• Ashland – Clark County TBA

• Lexington Catholic – Covington Catholic TB

Ken Trivette, KHSBHF Board Chairman, said 2021 offers the time frame to bring the Hall of Fame to the schools, communities and fans that made the sport successful over the years.

2020 CLASS

• Ellis Johnson, Ashland High School, 1929

• Todd Tackett, Paintsville High School, 1998

• Wesley Cox, Male High School, 1973

• Coy Creason, Brewers High School, 1948

• Kim Denkins, Nicholas County High School, 1994

• James “Joe” Hamilton, Dunbar High School, 1966

• Durand “Rudy” Macklin, Shawnee High School, 1976

• Ronnie Lyons, Mason County High School, 1970

• Connie Goins, Franklin County High School, 1982

• Clarence Glover, Caverna High School, 1967

• Coach Patrick Payne, Hazard High School, 1926-1946

• Coach Bill Mike Runyon, Paintsville High School, 1983-2008, 2013-2016

• Coach Bob Tripure, Lexington Henry Clay, Lexington Catholic, 1984-1999

2021 CLASS

• Frank Selvy, Corbin High School, 1950

• Coach Rodney Woods, Wayne County High School, 1987-Active

• Derek Anderson, Doss High School,1992

• Pat Tallent, Maytown High School, 1971

• Clarence Wilson, Horse Cave High School, 1945

• Coach Bill Brown, Southern High School, 1976-1995

• Bob Mulcahy, Lafayette High School, 1950    

• Dirk Minnifield, Lafayette High School, 1979

• Sara Beth Hammond, Rockcastle County High School, 2011

• Barney Thweatt, Brewers High School, 1948

• Coach Tim Riley, Warren Central High School, 1990-Active

• Sarah Elliott Cannon, Jackson County High School, 2004