Senator Ralph Alvarado appointed to administrative regulation review subcommittee

Published 4:00 pm Thursday, August 19, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

FRANKFORT, Ky. – The Senate Majority Caucus has appointed Sen. Ralph Alvarado (R-Winchester) to the Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee. He replaces State Senator Alice Forgy Kerr, who announced earlier this year that she would not be seeking re-election to the Kentucky State Senate. 

“I am grateful for the opportunity to serve in this capacity on what is an important statutory committee. I want to thank my colleague, Senator Kerr, for her years of service and contributions to this committee and the entire senate. When her term as Senator of District 12 concludes, she will be deeply missed,” Senator Alvarado said.

The jurisdiction of the committee is to review and give opinions on administrative regulations submitted to it by the Legislative Research Commission; making nonbinding determinations concerning the statutory authority to enforce administrative regulations filed with the LRC; review existing administrative regulations; recommend an amendment, repeal, or enactment of statutes relating to administrative regulations; conduct a continuous study of administrative regulations procedure and the needs of administrative bodies; study statutes relating to administrative hearings, and make legislative recommendations.

Email newsletter signup

Senator Alvarado joined his first meeting of the Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee on Tuesday. 

Senator Ralph Alvarado (R-Winchester) represents Kentucky’s 28th Senate District, including Clark and Montgomery Counties and the eastern portion of Fayette County. He serves as co-chairman of the Interim Joint Committee on Health, Welfare, and Family Services and is a member of the Interim Joint Committees on Banking and Insurance; Local Government, and State Government.  Senator Alvarado also serves as a liaison member of the Budget Review Subcommittee on Human Resources. Additionally, he serves as a member of the Medicaid Oversight and Advisory Statutory Committee, the Severe Mental Illness Task Force, the Unemployment Insurance Reform Task Force, and now, the Administrative Regulation Review Subcommittee.