Fifteen candidates file to run for office in 2022

Published 3:40 pm Monday, November 15, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Fifteen candidates have already filed to run for 14 local city and county offices since the state filing deadline opened on November 3.

At the top of the ballot, voters will choose a new Clark County Judge-Executive and a new Mayor of Winchester.
Magistrate Greg Elkins has filed to as a Republican for the county judge’s chair. Justin Patrick Charles has filed to run as a Democrat.

Commissioner JoEllen Reed and Ralph Harrison have filed to run to replace the retiring Ed Burtner as mayor.
Several incumbents have already filed for reelection at the county level. Democrat Michelle Turner will seek another term as county clerk. Republican Berl Perdue Jr. will run for another term as sheriff. County Attorney William D. Elkins will seek a second term in office.

Email newsletter signup

Magistrates Daniel Konstantopoulos, Travis N. Thompson, Joe Graham and Christopher M. Davis will run for reelection to the fiscal court. All four are Republicans. Republican constables Doug Woodall and Shelby Lynn Toler will also run for reelection.

Two Republican newcomers have filed for county office. Paul Wyatt has filed to run for jailer and Neal Ray Oliver will run for county coroner.

The following offices currently have no filed candidates: board of education (districts 1 and 4), constable (districts 2,4,5 and 6), city commission, magistrate (districts 4 and 6) property value administrator, soil and water conservation district and surveyor.

Candidates in partisan races have until January 7, 2022 to turn in the proper paperwork to run. Candidates in non-partisan races have until June 7.

For more information on running for office visit the Kentucky State Board of Elections’ website at