GOP Judge-Executive and magistrate races turn competitive

Published 3:30 pm Thursday, December 2, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Four local Republican primaries will be contested this fall, according to the latest list of candidates who have filed to run for office.

Candidates in partisan races have until January 7, 2022, to turn in the proper paperwork to run. Candidates in non-partisan races have until June 7.

Les Yates will face off against Magistrate Greg Elkins in the race to represent the GOP next fall for the county judge’s chair.

Email newsletter signup

Steven Caudill will challenge incumbent Daniel Konstantopoulos for the District 1 magisterial seat on the Clark County Fiscal Court.

Ernest Pasley will challenge incumbent Magistrate Travis N. Thompson in District 2; District 3 Magistrate Joe Graham will defend his seat against challenger Larry G. Hall.

Magistrate Robert Blanton, a Democrat, has filed to run for reelection in District 6.

Jerry Edwards Jr. will run as a Republican for constable in District 5.

Democrat Jason Neely has filed to run for reelection as Clark County Property Administrator, as has Republican Jada Brady.

Greg Yates has filed to run for the Winchester Board of Commissioners.

Republican State Rep. Ryan Dotson will seek reelection.

Judges Pamela R. Goodwine and Glenn Acree filed to run for reelection for the Kentucky Court of Appeals, District 5.

Judge Cole Adams Maier will seek another term in the 25th District Circuit Court.

Judges Nora J. Shepherd and Kimberly Blair Walson are running for reelection to the 25th District Family Court.

Judges Chuck Hardin, Robert Jennings, and Earl-Ray Neal are running for reelection to the 25th District District Court.

For more information on running for office, visit the Kentucky State Board of Elections website at

Candidate Filings
County Primaries
County Judge-Executive
Greg Elkins (R)
Les Yates (R)
Justin Patrick Charles (D)

County Clerk
Michelle Turner (D)

County Attorney
William D. Elkins (R)

Berl Perdue Jr. (R)

Paul Wyatt II (R)

Neal Ray Oliver (Republican)

Property Value Administrator
Jason Neely (D)
Jada Brady (R)

No candidate filings

District 1
Daniel Konstantopoulos (R)
Steven Caudill (R)

District 2
Travis N. Thompson (R)
Ernest Pasley (R)

District 3
Joe Graham (R)
Larry G. Hall (R)

District 4
No candidate filings

District 5
Christopher M. Davis (R)

District 6
Robert Blanton (D)

District 1
Doug Woodall (R)

District 2
No candidate filings

District 3
Shelby Lynn Toler (R)

District 4
No candidate filings

District 5
Jerry Edwards Jr.

District 6
No candidate filings

Soil and Water Conservation District
No candidate filings
City Primaries
JoEllen Reed
Ralph Harrison

City Commission (At-Large)
Greg Yates

Board of Education Primaries
District 1
No candidate filings

District 4
No candidate filings

State Primaries
State Representative
D. Ryan Dotson (R)

State Senator, 28th District
No candidate filings

Judicial Primaries
Justice, Supreme Court of Kentucky, District 5
No candidate filings
Judge, Court of Appeals, District 5
Pamela R. Goodwine/1st
Glenn Acree/2nd
Judge, Circuit Court, 25th Circuit
Cole Adams Maier/2nd
Judge, Family Court, 25th District
Nora J. Sheperd/3rd
Kimberly Blair Walson/4th
Judge, District Court, 25th District
Charles W. Hardin/1st
Robert Jennings/2nd
Early-Ray Neal/3rd