The filing deadline for the May primaries has passed; here is how the races stack up

Published 5:08 pm Thursday, January 27, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

2022 is shaping up to be a busy year for elections with control of the U.S. Congress on the line in November, and the same can be said for Winchester and Clark County, with several local offices up for grabs.

But before the general election in the fall, there is the May 17 primary. The filing deadline to run passed at 4 p.m. on Tuesday. 

County Offices

Email newsletter signup

The battle for seats on the Clark County Fiscal Court and the judge-executive’s office looks to be the most competitive races.

Former State Rep. Les Yates, Magistrate Greg Elkins, and Clark County Coroner Robert Gayheart have all filed to run for the Republican nomination for the county judge’s chair.

Justin Charles and Vache King will square for the Democratic nomination for the same office.

Steven Caudill will challenge incumbent Daniel Konstantopoulos for the District 1 magisterial seat on the Clark County Fiscal Court. Both are Republicans. No Democrat filed to run for the seat.

Ernest Pasley will challenge incumbent Magistrate Travis N. Thompson in the District 2 GOP primary. No Democrat filed to run for the seat.

District 3 Magistrate Joe Graham will defend his seat against challengers Larry G. Hall and Stephen Craycraft in the Republican primary. Democrat Lee Watts is running unopposed for his party’s nomination.

In District 4, Republicans Tom Korb and Mark Miller are seeking to replace Elkins. No Democrat filed to run for the seat.

In District 5, Magistrate Chris Davis faces a challenge from David Stambaugh II in the Republican primary. For the Democrats, William Swope II and Leonard Shortridge will square off in the primary.

District 6 Magistrate Robert Blanton, a Democrat, faces no opposition in the primary, nor does Republican Jeremy Wilson. 

In the race for District 1 Constable, Republican Doug Woodall is unopposed in the primary. No Democrat filed to run.

In District 2, Republicans Brad Wells, Travis McIntosh and Zachary Pritchard are vying for their party’s nomination. No Democrat has filed to run.

In District 3, Lynn Toler and W. Gerald Ham are squaring off for the Republicans. Democrat Geoff Sebesta is running unopposed. 

In District 4, Republican David W. Puckett and Democrat Phillip Wright are running unopposed.

In District 5, Republican Jerry Edwards is running unopposed and has no presumed Democratic opponent in the fall.

No candidates have filed to run for constable in District 6.

Clark County Clerk Michell Turner will face no opposition in the Democratic primary. On the Republican side Paula Edwards, Linda Jako and Daniel Veter are vying to be Turner’s opponent in the fall.

Clark County PVA Jason Neely, a Democrat, also faces no opposition in his own party but does have a presumed opponent for the general election, Republican Jada Brady.

Clark County Jailer Frank Doyle, a Democrat, will presumably face Republican Paul Wyatt II in the fall since neither has a primary opponent.

Clark County Attorney William Elkins is unopposed in the Republican primary and the general election. His fellow Republican, Clark County Sheriff Berl Perdue and Neal Ray Oliver, the candidate for Clark County Coroner, also have no competitors in the primary or general elections.

No candidates have filed to run for county surveyor or the soil conservation district board.

City Elections

In the race to be Winchester’s next mayor, Commissioner JoEllen Reed will face businessman Ralph Harrison in the fall.

Commissioners Shannon Cox and Kitty Strode are among nine candidates running for the Board of Commissioners. The other candidates are Kenny Book, John Flynn, Greg Yates, Roi A. Mayes, Robin Kunkel, Hannah Toole and Paula Branham Thomas. The top eight vote-getters will advance to the general election.

State Legislators

State Sen. Ralph Alvarado and Rep. Ryan Dotson, both Republicans, will not face primary challengers.

Two Democrats are vying for the nomination for state representative, Thomas Weston Adams III and Rory Houlihan.

No Democrat has filed to run for state senator.


25th District Circuit Court Judges Brandy Oliver Brown and Cole Adams Maier are unopposed in the primary and general elections.

Neither of the 25th District Family Court Judges, Nora J. Shepherd and Kimberly Blair Watson, have challengers. Nor do 25th District Court Judges Charles W. Hardin and Earl-Ray Neal.

District Court Judge Robert Jennings will face Richmond attorney Kristin Jane Clouse for the 2nd Division gavel.