Candidate forums begin Monday

Published 2:21 pm Friday, April 15, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The May primaries are less than a month away, and it is time to hear from the candidates.

The Winchester-Clark County Chamber of Commerce, WWKY radio and the Sun will host the first in a series of three candidate forums starting 6 p.m. Monday at the Clark County Cooperative Extension Office located at 1400 Fortune Drive.

“Candidate forums provide a valuable opportunity for Clark County residents to learn more about the people who are running for public office,” said Tammy Moberly, president of the Winchester-Clark County Chamber of Commerce.

Email newsletter signup

The public is encouraged to attend the events, and for those not able to be there in person, the forums will be live-streamed on the chamber’s Facebook page, and broadcast live on WWKY 102.9 FM/990 AM.

The Sun will have a reporter in attendance for each forum, and a full write-up of the event will be available online the next day.

Monday’s forum will be for candidates running for Clark County Judge-Executive and fiscal court magistrates.

The following week, on the 25th, the forum will focus on candidates for the Winchester Board of Commissioners, Clark County Clerk, county constables and the 73rd Legislative District.

The final forum will be held on Wednesday, May 4, and will feature candidates for the U.S. Senate and Kentucky’s 6th Congressional District seat.

No campaign materials are permitted to be posted or distributed in the building or on the grounds.

The forums will not include races that are uncontested in the primary election.

Candidates for Monday’s Forum

County Judge-Executive
Greg Elkins (R)
Les Yates (R)
Robert Gayheart (R)
Justin Patrick Charles (D)
Vache L. King (D)

County Magistrates
District 1
Daniel Konstantopoulos (R)
Steve Young Caudill (R)

District 2
Travis N. Thompson (R)
Ernest Wayne Pasley (R)

District 3
Joe Graham (R)
Larry G. Hall (R)
Stephen Craycraft (R)

District 4
Tom Korb (R)
Mark Darryl Miller (R)

District 5
Chris M. Davis (R)
David Stambaugh II (R)