District 2 BOE seat up for grabs in November election

Published 5:30 pm Thursday, August 4, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The race to replace Brenda Considine is on.

Clark County Clerk Michelle Turner said that the seat representing District 2 will be up for grabs in the general election slated for November 8th.

The deadline to file to run for the vacant seat is next Tuesday, August 9th, at 4 p.m.

Email newsletter signup

Interested candidates must pay a filing fee of $20, have a transcript verifying that they completed the 12th grade or higher, and have two signatures on a petition from legally qualified voters from within the district.

According to Kentucky law, to be eligible to serve on a Kentucky school board, a person must be 24 years old, a Kentucky resident, a school district resident for at least three years, and have the equivalent of a 12th-grade education. No one can serve on a school board under state law and: hold any other elected office, have previously been removed from a school board, have a relative employed by the school district, or be a vendor of supplies or services to it.

District 2 is comprised of Becknerville, Boonesboro, Calmes, Sphar, and Stoney Brook,

Considine suddenly resigned effective July 14th without explanation. She was elected in November 2020 and began a four-year term in January 2021. Per Kentucky law, the election to replace Considine must take place during the next regularly scheduled day for the public to cast ballots

In the meantime, between the election and swearing-in of a new member, the board of education has 30 days after it accepted Considine’s resignation – which it did at a meeting Tuesday – to advertise applications for an interim board member. Per Kentucky law, once it does, the board has two weeks to advertise the position and choose from a pool of applicants. If it does not select an interim member at that time, then the state’s chief school officer has 60 days to make the appointment.

Whoever is appointed will serve until January, when the newly elected board member is sworn in.