Clark County primary voting trends mostly mirror statewide patterns

Published 5:21 pm Wednesday, May 17, 2023

The polls have closed and the tallies are in from around Kentucky on Primary Tuesday as a whole host of contested races for constitutional offices were on the ballot for both the Democratic and Republican parties, including Governor, Secretary of State, Auditor of Public Accounts and Commissioner of Agriculture.

The following results are with 100 percent of all Kentucky counties and precincts reporting. All tallies are unofficial until they are certified by the Kentucky Secretary of State’s Office.

Attorney General Daniel Cameron has emerged from a crowded field to win the GOP nomination for governor.  He captured 48 percent of the vote statewide and was the choice of Clark County voters, where he captured 47 percent of the vote.

Email newsletter signup

Incumbent Gov. Andy Beshear cruised to victory in the Democratic primary. The governor captured 91 percent of the vote statewide and won 89 percent in Clark County

Michael Adams, the incumbent Secretary of State, captured 64 percent of the vote statewide for the GOP. He won 73 percent of the tally in Clark County.

Republican voters cast the majority of their lots for Allison Ball in her bid for Auditor of Public Accounts. Ball received 72 percent of voters statewide and 70 percent in Clark County.

Mark H. Metcalf captured 51 percent of the GOP vote for Treasurer statewide and won Clark County with 50 percent of the local vote.

Republican Jonathan Shell won 56 percent of his party’s vote for Commissioner of Agriculture and 63 percent in Clark County.

Sierra J. Enlow is the Democrat’s choice for Commissioner of Agriculture with 59 percent of the vote. She received 50 percent in Clark County.

The primary for Attorney General for both parties and the Democratic contests for Auditor of Public Accounts, Secretary of State and Treasurer were canceled due to only one candidate filing.

The results below are for Clark County. For complete statewide results visit

Clark County Results



Andy Beshear – 1,840 (89.10%)

Geoffrey M. Young – 137 (6.63%)

Peppy Martin – 88 (4.26%)


Daniel Cameron – 1,410 (47.36%)

Ryan Quarles – 869 (29.19%)

Kelly Craft – 404 (13.57%)

Eric Deters – 85 (2.86%)

Mike Harmon – 78 (2.62%)

Alan Keck – 66 (2.22%)

David O. Cooper – 15 (0.50%)

Robbie C. Smith – 12 (0.40%)

Bob DeVore – 12 (0.40%)

Dennis Ray Ormerod – 10 (.34%)

Jacob Clark – 9 (0.30%)

Johnny Ray Rice – 7 (0.24%)

Secretary of State


Michael Adams – 1,875 (73.73%)

Stephen L. Knipper – 435 (17.11%)

Allen Maricle – 233 (9.16%)

Auditor of Public Accounts


Allison Ball – 1,774 (70.56%)

Derek Petteys – 740 (29.44%)



Mark H. Metcalf – 1,265 (50.42%)

Andrew Cooperrider – 639 (25.47%)

O.C. Oleka – 605 (24.11%)

Commissioner of Agriculture


Sierra J. Enlow – 864 (50.09%)

Mikael Malone – 861 (49.91%)


Jonathan Shell – 1,555 (63.55%)

Richard Heath – 892 (36.45%)