76 candidates file for Clark election

When the registration deadline passed at 4 p.m. Tuesday, the field for Clark County’s ballot had grown significantly.

Clark County Clerk Michelle Turner said 14 people entered her office just to file their paperwork to run for elected office.

“This morning was a steady flow,” she said. “Around 3 p.m., we had another bunch.”

Turner is one of those now facing opposition in the fall, as is Clark County Judge-Executive Henry Branham and Winchester Mayor Ed Burtner.

There will also be a May primary for both Winchester mayor and for the city board of commissioners, with three and nine candidates, respectively. The primary will eliminate one candidate from each, Turner said, and the remainder will be on the November ballot.

Branham, a Democrat, will face former deputy judge-executive Liz Elswick in the May primary, as will Republicans Sam Williams or Chris Pace.

Billy R. Flinchum and perennial candidate Ralph Harrison will challenge Winchester Mayor Ed Burtner in May. The top two vote-getters will advance to the November ballot.

All six of the current county magistrates and three of the four current city commissioners are seeking re-election as well.

The May primary will resolve several races including sheriff between Republicans Berl Perdue Jr. and Shannon Stone; county coroner between Democrats Robert Gayheart and Jeff Willison; magistrate district 4 between Republicans Greg Elkins and Kenneth Anderson; and constable district 4 between Republicans Gerald Tackett and David Puckett.

Jason Neely, son of outgoing PVA Karen Bushart, is unopposed for property valuation administrator. Two constable candidates, Doug Woodall for district 1 and Norman Douglas Rose for district 6, are also unopposed. District judges Charles Hardin and Earl-Ray Neal and Commonwealth’s Attorney David Smith are also unopposed.

The remaining races will be settled in November.

County attorney

Democrat: Brian Thomas (incumbent)

Republican: William Elkins

County clerk

Democrat: Michelle Turner (incumbent), Wyler Dykeman

Republican:  William Roy Collins Jr.


Democrat: Frank Doyle (incumbent), Bryan Richardson

Republican: Randy Steagall


Democrat: Henry Branham (incumbent), Liz Elswick

Republican: Chris Pace, Sam Williams


Republican: Berl Perdue Jr. (incumbent), Shannon Stone


Democrat: Robert Gayheart (incumbent), Jeff Willison

Circuit clerk

Paula Joslin (incumbent, will withdraw)

Property Valuation Administrator

Democrat: Jason Neely

Magistrate district 1

Democrat: David Weistroffer

Republican: Daniel Konstantopoulos (incumbent)

Magistrate district 2

Democrat: Pam Blackburn (incumbent), Kevin Warner

Republican: Travis Thompson

Magistrate district 3

Democrat: Don Pasley, Mike Sosby

Republican: Joe Graham (incumbent)

Magistrate district 4

Republican: Greg Elkins (incumbent), Kenneth Anderson

Magistrate district 5

Democrat: Sheila McCord (incumbent)

Republican: Christopher Davis

Magistrate district 6

Democrat: Robert G. Blanton (incumbent)

Republican: James Nisbet, Michael F. Hack

Constable district 1

Republican: Doug Woodall

Constable district 2

Democrat: James P. “Sam” Stone Jr.

Republican: Brad James Wells

Constable district 3

Democrat: Charles Bruce Phillips

Republican: Shelby “Lynn” Toler II

Constable district 4

Republican: Gerald “Jerry” Tackett, David Puckett

Constable district 5

Democrat: John Lambert

Republican: Jerry Edwards

Constable district 6

Republican: Norman Douglas Rose


Ed Burtner (incumbent), Ralph Harrison, Billy R. Flinchum

City commissioner

Kenny Book (incumbent), Seneca Anderson, Ramsey Flynn, Kitty W. Strode (incumbent), Shannon Cox (incumbent), JoEllen Reed, Tom Korb, Paula Branham Thomas, David Walker

State representative

Democrat: Pat Banks, Rory Houlihan

Republican: Donna Mayfield (incumbent), Les Yates

State senate

Democrat: Denise Gray

Republican: Ralph Alvarado (incumbent)

District judge division 1

Charles Hardin (incumbent)

District judge division 2

Brandy Oliver Brown (incumbent), Cole Adams Maier, Elizabeth Elkins Bond

District judge division 3

Earl-Ray Neal (incumbent)

Commonwealth’s attorney

Democrat: David Smith (incumbent)

U.S. Representative

Democrat: Jim Gray, Theodore David Green, Daniel Kemph, Reggie Thomas, Geoffrey M. Young, Amy McGrath

Republican: Andy Barr (incumbent), Chuck Eddy.