Harper named 2025 Clark County Distinguished Young Woman

Published 10:15 am Monday, June 10, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The 2025 Distinguished Young Woman of Clark County was named during a ceremony on Saturday, June 1st, at George Rogers Clark High School. 

Caroline Harper, daughter of Ben and Amy Harper, has received the honor. 

Madelyn Goeing, 2024 Distinguished Young Woman of Clark County, presented Harper with the honor.

Email newsletter signup

After being named 2025 Clark County DYW, Harper will compete at the state competition in January 2025. 

DYW is an annual scholarship program with nearly 30 counties across Kentucky participating. 

At the state competition, candidates are assessed in five categories: scholastic, interview, talent, self-expression, and fitness. 

College and cash scholarships are awarded at the state level, with millions in college-granted scholarships also available. 

This year’s program in Clark County awarded over $12,000 in cash scholarships to winners. 

In addition to Harper being named Distinguished Young Woman, recognition was given in several other areas: 

1st Runner-Up: Olivia Brownlee 

2nd Runner-Up: Cady Johnson 

3rd Runner-Up: Meredith Boone 

Talent Winners: Caroline Harper, Sydney Antoniou, Cady Johnson 

Fitness Winners: Sydney Antoniou, Caroline Harper, Olivia Brownlee

Self-Expression: Olivia Brownlee, Caroline Harper, Cady Johnson 

Interview: Caroline Harper, Maddie Vaughn, Olivia Brownlee, Cady Johnson, 

Scholastic Runner Ups: Rileigh Reed, Caroline Harper

Overall Scholastic Winner: Olivia Brownlee 

Be Your Best Self: Madilyn Stotts

Woo Hoo Gang Spirit Award: Ella Mattingly 

Missy Davidson 110% Award: Grace Owen 

Miss Fara Spirit Award: Sydney Antoniou 

Donna Fuller Passion Award: Olivia Brownlee